NFTA Transporter

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Transit Police Awards

On March 5, the NFTA hosted an awards ceremony for the Transit Authority Police Department, paying tribute to the officers who have excelled in protecting the traveling public over the past year.

Top honors went to Officer of the Year – Detective Michael Wright, for his outstanding contributions to the Authority and the community. The Medal Of Valor was bestowed on Officer James DeLacy for service above and beyond the call of duty.

The Randall Burgio Memorial Award recognizes officers who exhibits exemplary behavior, demonstrating kindness and concern, was given to Lt. Phillip Karaszewski and Officer Joseph Ippolit.

The officer who exemplifies Department’s highest standards is honored with the Chief’s Award. This year’s recipient was Detective Christopher DiPasquale.

Life Saving awards were given to Officer Kristin Mazur and Officer Edward Carney III. Officer Michael Davies received a Unit Citation. The Aviation Division Officer Of The Year went to Officer Edward Carney III and the Metro Division Officer Of The Year went to Officer Thomas Dewey.

Officers of the Quarter included Officer Missy Baker, Officer John LaMonte, Detective Kevin Schilling, Officer Edward Carney III, Officer Heather Skinner, Officer Brandon Annable, Officer Victor Alvarado, Officer Adam Day, Officer Kristin Mazur, Juvenile Officer Thomas Losi, and Juvenile Officer Benny Cordero.

Merit Awards were given to; Lt. James Halliday, Detective Michael Wright, Detective Kevin Schilling, Detective Craig Palladino, Officer Edward Carney III, Officer Michael Full, K9 Officer Mark Dole, Officer Michael Livecchi, Officer Richard Lewis, Officer John Lamonte, Officer Clayton Reed, Officer Karen Skipper, Officer James DeLacey, Officer Richard Russo, Officer Jacob Bratek, Officer Anita Woodruff-Sanders.

Congratulations to everyone and thank you for your continued outstanding service to our community.