NFTA Transporter

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Transit Police Awards

On June 15, the NFTA hosted an awards ceremony for the Transit Authority Police Department.  Chief of Police George W. Gast acknowledged the officers who, over the past year, excelled in protecting the traveling public.

Top honors went to Officer of the Year – Detective Sergeant Joseph Catanzaro, for his outstanding contributions to the Authority and the community.  Officers of the Quarter included Richard Russo, Det. Kevin Schilling, Det. Craig Palladino, Casey Coggins, Michael Davies, and Sgt. Louis Loubert.

The Randall Burgio Memorial Award is recognition for an officer who exhibits exemplary behavior, demonstrating kindness and concern beyond the normal call of duty.  This year’s recipient was Lt. Jason Porter, who joins last year’s recipient Captain Chris Chiodo in this unique honor.

The Chief’s Award goes to the officer who exemplifies for the community the Department’s highest standards.  Sgt. Louis Loubert received this year’s honor.

Special awards were also given to Richard Lewis, Sgt. Michael Livecchi, Sgt. Robert Gawlick, Michelle Krzemien, David Krzemien, Vincent Mancino, Jonathan Sutton, Chris DiPasquelle, Heather Skinner, Robert Hunter and Sgt. Joseph Catanzaro.

Congratulations to everyone.